STEPPING INTO ADULTHOOD…

 I turned 18 last year ( in April 2016) and now, when I think about it, I’ve already lived almost a year of my life as an “adult”. The word “adult” connotes two major things; The first one being responsibility and the second one being freedom. I feel like these two things are  contrasting and complementary at the same time.

Like every other adolescent, I too was very excited about being an adult, taking decisions for myself and exercising my rights as an individual etc. But, today, after 11 months of being an adult, I feel like it isn’t as easy as it seems.

Over the last 11 months I’ve had to go to many government offices to get my passport, Pan-Card, Driving License etc,I’ve had to deal directly with the outside world without depending on my parents.

Many are times when I drive on the roads and see people breaking the rules and driving however they want to, I feel frustrated and want to break the rules myself. However, I just can’t get myself to do it.

Over the years, I’ve come to realise that freedom comes with its own constraints. These constraints being the fact that I know the difference the right and the wrong. I feel like this sense that has developed over the years,helps me use my freedom in the right way.

One thing that I feel has changed majorly is that now, the world does not see me like it used to before! When I was younger, I would be looked at as my parents’ daughter and they were the ones who were held  responsible for all my actions. However, as an adult I’m looked at as an individual who is grown up enough to take responsibility for her own actions.

Honestly, this sense of responsibility intimidates me at times and I feel like I’m not mature enough to take it. However, when I do something on my own like driving to college by myself, I feel a sense of accomplishment, pride and a lot more and its amazing!

As a whole, this  scenario reminds me of the time when I learned to ride a bicycle on my own.

At first, There were training wheels and some physical support as well; After being able to ride a bit, I didn’t need the physical support anymore so there were just the training wheels for support. In the process, I fell & got scared but managed to get up again and ride.  Then after a little longer, even the training wheels were taken off and I learned to balance and ride away all by myself!

When I look back now, I feel like the smallest of our childhood experiences are preparing us for our life ahead and hinting us about the fact that falling down, getting up, failure and success are all an integral part of life and we must take the best out of them!

-SHIVANEE-

2 thoughts on “STEPPING INTO ADULTHOOD…

Leave a Reply

