JUST ANOTHER ORDINARY DAY?

Almost everyone in the world waits for that special day which comes once every year. Any guesses? Yes, I’m talking about ‘birthday”- The day you were brought into this world, the day you started breathing, the day you started living your life. The whole idea of a birthday just fascinates me so much. My birthday is one day I look forward to every year, no matter what happens.

I start counting the days left for my birthday like 2 months before it and go around telling people how excited I am about it. According to me, the days before and after my birthday are the most irritating days because, the day before my birthday I’ll be so excited waiting for “the day” to arrive and the day after it I’ll be sad because its over.

This year the excitement I was feeling was way more than usual. I was so excited that I went to bed at 10 pm on the day before my birthday, but I couldn’t sleep because I kept checking the time on my phone to see how many more hours were left and trust me, those two hours were as long as two years.

Finally it was 12:00 am and “the day” had arrived! My day had arrived! My mom came into my room at 12:00 and woke me up. I was trying to act like I was fast asleep but honestly; I was nowhere close to being sleepy at that time. I woke up and she wished me and gave me my gift and a card that she had made for me. She made me feel so special that I was touched and speechless. After a few minutes, She said “try and get some sleep now. Tomorrow is going to be one hell of a day”. She switched off the light and went to her room and I closed my eyes and tried to sleep. I couldn’t sleep even though I tried very hard. I realized that I was waking up after every fifteen minutes and checking the time.

Somehow I managed to sleep for about 3-4 hours and woke up at around seven in the morning.

I checked my Facebook and WhatsApp and wishes had already started pouring in. I sat down and thought- the day I was waiting for had finally arrived and I wish that this day never ended!

Later that day, my friends came over and we had a great time, but before I knew it, it was 8 pm and the day was almost over. It had gone by so fast. I guess it was because of all those phone calls, the gifts and most importantly, all those wishes from friends and family. I had my dinner and before I knew it, it was time for bed. I lay there on the bed and thought about the fact that “the day” was over and that I would have to wait for it for another year. It had gone by so fast that I was both happy and sad. Happy because, everyone had made me feel so special and had made my day so memorable and sad because, it was just yesterday when I was waiting for it to arrive and now it was almost gone. “How did 24 hours go by so fast?” I asked myself and before I knew it, I had fallen asleep. This time my mind was very peaceful and was prepared to wait for another year!

If you look at it, your birthday is just another day of your life and if you think logically, you should be sad on your birthday because you grow a year older on this day and with age comes more maturity and more responsibility, don’t you think?

As I’m growing older, I keep thinking that I’ll be a little less excited on my birthday this year since I’m growing all old but, fortunately or unfortunately I’m always as excited as ever on my birthday every year!

-Shivanee 

2 thoughts on “JUST ANOTHER ORDINARY DAY?

  1. A birthday also signifies you’re getting ready to spread your wings and fly further and free.
    It’s truly something to be excited about!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

