EMBRACING CHANGE

It was around the same time last year when I decided that I would be doing my 11th and 12th grade in another school. It was a very hard decision for me to take because I was really attached to my previous school and I still am. My parents had told me that it was completely my decision. I thought about it a lot but I got different answers from my heart and from my brain. My heart told me that I should continue in the same school but my brain said that I should shift to the other school because that was the best for me. I really wanted to follow my heart, but somewhere deep within I knew that shifting to the other school was the best thing to do.

My board exams got over in the first week of June and I had to start going to my new school in less than a weeks time. I was both happy and sad. Happy because, I had a chance to start afresh, A chance to make new friends and a chance to become a better person but, I was really sad too because I had been in my previous school for 6 years and honestly, It was a great place. I had learnt a lot from all the time that I spent there. It’s not like my journey there was a joy ride, it was a mixture of good and bad experiences. However, these experiences – the good ones and the bad had all taught me a lesson and made me a better person.

Over the few days that I had before I started attending my new school, I tried my best to look at the positive side of the situation and overlook the negative one.

It was my first day at the new school. I was really nervous and my palms were sweaty, but somewhere deep within, I was excited too. As I walked into the new school I realized yet again that everything had changed and that nothing was going to be the same again, and that strangers surrounded me. I felt awkward and unknown; I was totally shattered because reality had hit me yet again. After walking a little bit through a crowd of excited kids, I asked a girl where the 11th grade classrooms were. She guided me to my class and I said thanks and walked into the class.

I saw a group of boys and girls sitting in a circle and chattering away. As I was walking into the class, they stopped talking for a moment and looked at me and then continued chatting. I walked in and put my backpack in one of the desks and sat down. I felt like no one was really willing to talk to me and I was a bit scared to start a conversation, so I decided to lay my head on the desk and go to sleep. After about 15 minutes, I felt like someone was tapping me on my back and so I woke up. I saw a girl standing in front of me. She said hello and asked me if I was new I said “yes “ and we started having a conversation. Later she took me to another class room and introduced me to some more people. I talked to quite a few people and found that the people in the school were very warm and welcoming. Before I knew it the day was over and I was back home.

When I walked into the house my dad asked me how my first day was, I said, “it was okay” and went into my room. I sat on the bed and realized that there were tears in my eyes. Even I didn’t know why I was crying, but I was. I called one of my friends from my old school and talking to her made me feel much better.

For the next few days, I tried my best to avoid going to school even though school wasn’t that bad. I told almost all my friends from my old school that I hated my new school. There was something that I hated about it; even I don’t know what it was.

As time passed by I realized that I had started liking my new school, I realized that I had made some really good friends- friends who will always be there for me no matter what. I had finally been able to accept this change well. I had also learnt to be happy with what I have. I had also realized that I had made the right decision by changing schools because coming to this new school was the option that was the best for my future.

This experience has taught me a lot. I learned that you should always do what ever you think is the best instead of getting influenced by what others say. Also, taking the right decision can be one of the hardest things to do when you look at it from the emotional point of view but, being practical is always more important than being emotional. If you’re going through a bad phase in life, don’t give up, keep fighting because trust me, Life has something awesome in store for you!

-SHIVANEE

3 thoughts on “EMBRACING CHANGE

  1. Your ability to look back and honestly admit that what you feared was not so bad after all reflects such great wisdom! something we adults will hesitate to admit, for to admit that I was wrong is a blow to my ego.

    do keep writing… its amazing the simple sense that you, the youth of today, are gifted with!

    Like

Leave a Reply

